Burningissues.net Forum
September 21, 2017, 12:23:02 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: It is with deep regret that we have had to take the decision to suspend new registrations.   Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: unknown device!!! no sound!!!!  (Read 17007 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
murdoku
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


« on: April 07, 2007, 10:43:58 PM »

 ???ok, so I have this older machine a IBM pentium3 550 and I recently
swapped it’s old cd drive for a burnable cd drive. I didn’t add/remove new
hardware before I did it, and when I got it in, the machine
doesn’t recognize it. I got a nero 6 demo, and it gave
me the “win-aspi ?..?” error message. I’ve tried to
uninstall/reinstall nero, and that does nothing. I’ve also
tried properties, update driver, but nothing. I think I screwed
with it too much, because now theres no sound at all! in the
device manager it now says “unknown  device”. (breath).

ok, so I was hoping someone would know where I could at
least get the old driver back? or, even more hopfully, something
I can do to make this thing burn.


Thanks for reading all that and any assistance.
Logged
shoarthing
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 165


« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2007, 11:47:09 PM »

Hi - I'm just now running a 20x LiteOn DVD-burner in a very old [PIII 500MHz] system & all works fine.

Suggest you first check: a) the optical drive is jumpered correctly; b) it is connected using a UDMA cable - these modern optical drives run at UDMA mode 2, 3, or 4, c) it is recognised in the mobo's BIOS.

You can d/l the latest version of 'wnaspi32.dll' from Nero (http://www.nero.com/nero7/enu/WNASPI32.DLL.html) for nowt if this is missing - belongs, obv, in /Windows/system32/ - or have a websearch for 'ForceASPI'
Logged
murdoku
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2007, 02:34:15 AM »

a response! thank god! i've posted at like 3 other boards, and nothing. i'll give it a try and let you know.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2007, 02:42:49 AM by murdoku » Logged
murdoku
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2007, 03:00:20 AM »

ok, i ran ForceASPI like it said in the index readme. he's the result:
     LOG0143: *****************************************************************
     LOG0144: Starting ASPICHK installer on Sun Apr 08 20:51:53 2007
 ASPICHK0438: OS = Windows 95 (4.10.2222)
 UPGRADE1004: c:\windows\system\wnaspi32.dll dated 04/24/1999 04:22:00, 36864 bytes.
 UPGRADE1062: c:\windows\system\wnaspi32.dll version 1.0.0.1
 UPGRADE1004: c:\windows\system\winaspi.dll dated 09/10/1999 18:06:00, 5600 bytes.
 UPGRADE1062: c:\windows\system\winaspi.dll version 4.6.0.1021
 UPGRADE1004: c:\windows\system\iosubsys\apix.vxd dated 09/10/1999 18:06:00, 22603 bytes.
 UPGRADE1062: c:\windows\system\iosubsys\apix.vxd version 4.6.0.1021
 UPGRADE1004: c:\windows\system\aspienum.vxd dated 09/10/1999 18:06:00, 7743 bytes.
 UPGRADE1062: c:\windows\system\aspienum.vxd version 4.6.0.1021
 ASPICHK0522: Inconsistent version numbers among components
 ASPICHK0592: ASPI installation has problems
     LOG0218: Closing installer log on Sun Apr 08 20:51:53 2007
     LOG0219: *****************************************************************

it said 'aspi not installed properly'.
?
Logged
shoarthing
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 165


« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2007, 10:06:56 AM »

Hi - you didn't say you were running Win95; this ghastly old OS can be a bugger to sort out.

Allegedly ForceASPI v1.7 [aspi 4.60(1021)] will install into Win95; but you seem to have tried this.

Suggest you first run 'killaspi' from the ForceASPI files, to remove any old versions, reboot, then try to install afresh.

If this doesn't work, would suggest you try to find a legal/usable Win98/98SE install CD & update your Windows installation.

 . .  but if you are the teensiest bit able as a geek, would bin MS & all its foul works & install a modern Linux - SimplyMEPIS, f'rinstance, comes as a LiveCD & has fairly moderate hardware requirements. If you have 128MB RAM or less or don't have a broadband connection would install Win98SE.

There is an absolutely superb burning application bundled with [KDE Desktop] Linux' called K3b.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2007, 10:40:34 AM by shoarthing » Logged
murdoku
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2007, 01:24:18 AM »

ok, thanks for the tips, i'll see what i can do.



thanks again
Logged
murdoku
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2007, 02:15:53 AM »

ok, so on another board, i was advised to use a different aspi program,
after i did the ForceASPI thing. i was frustrated earlier, so i put the old cd drive back in, then ran the other aspi program.now it says "aspi working properly', check this out:

LOG0143: *****************************************************************
     LOG0144: Starting ASPICHK22 installer on Tue Apr 10 19:57:22 2007
 ASPICHK0438: OS = Windows 95 (4.10.2222)
 UPGRADE1004: c:\windows\system\wnaspi32.dll dated 09/10/1999 11:06:00, 45056 bytes.
 UPGRADE1062: c:\windows\system\wnaspi32.dll version 4.6.0.1021
 UPGRADE1004: c:\windows\system\winaspi.dll dated 09/10/1999 11:06:00, 5600 bytes.
 UPGRADE1062: c:\windows\system\winaspi.dll version 4.6.0.1021
 UPGRADE1004: c:\windows\system\iosubsys\apix.vxd dated 09/10/1999 11:06:00, 22603 bytes.
 UPGRADE1062: c:\windows\system\iosubsys\apix.vxd version 4.6.0.1021
 UPGRADE1004: c:\windows\system\aspienum.vxd dated 09/10/1999 11:06:00, 7743 bytes.
 UPGRADE1062: c:\windows\system\aspienum.vxd version 4.6.0.1021
 ASPICHK0582: ASPI is properly installed and is fully operational. One host adapter has been detected.
     LOG0218: Closing installer log on Tue Apr 10 19:57:22 2007
     LOG0219: *****************************************************************

so now the aspicheck screen has a green backround (it was red before, when it wasn't working),
but i still have no sound!! in the system\device manager it says unknown device, where there
obviously was one (i used to have sound!). i've tryed to have it seach microsoft for adriver,
always coming back 'unable to find driver'. i'm thinking i made need the windows 98 se disk to
restore the driver??? i can't seem to find one. is that what i need?? should i put the new
burnable cd drive back in, then do this again?? i'm seriously getting to the point that i don't
even care about burning, i just want sound back!!
Logged
shoarthing
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 165


« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2007, 09:07:44 AM »

Which soundcard are you using?
Logged
murdoku
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2007, 12:55:53 AM »

Huh how can i check??
Logged
shoarthing
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 165


« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2007, 07:01:19 AM »

Huh how can i check??
. . . open case, shine torch on card conected to your speakers, blow dust off, read what make/model it is. This will be screen-printed on the card. It if ain't, read the very small screen-printing on the largest chip on the card. Write down exactly what you find out.

Logged
murdoku
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2007, 02:14:06 AM »

ok, so upon inspection, it looks like it is a system card.
(i never put a card in). so, like an interl card thats alway been there. dos that mean anything?Huh
Logged
shoarthing
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 165


« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2007, 07:13:01 AM »

ok, so upon inspection, it looks like it is a system card.
(i never put a card in). so, like an interl card thats alway been there. dos that mean anything?Huh
  . . which [exact] model of motherboard is it? When you have this info, you can Google for the specification, find new drivers, & so on.
Logged
murdoku
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #12 on: April 15, 2007, 03:22:52 AM »

i asked my friend how to find exactly whitch moyherboard was in it, and he
responded with a blank stare. is there a shiny red sticker on it that says what it is??
can i check without opening it up?? you think i should put the burnable drive back in first? (it
seems like if i did that, put the burner drive back in, i could find which MB was in it, and just get
a driver.)
Logged
shoarthing
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 165


« Reply #13 on: April 15, 2007, 09:34:25 AM »

Open the box [unplug it first]; these is one very large circuit-board - this is the motherboard.


Its name will be screen-printed [pretty clearly] on it - you need the full & exact name.
Logged
murdoku
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #14 on: April 16, 2007, 05:07:34 AM »

Heres my pcs insides. where is the information located?



Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.15 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!